Did Douglas Ernst Disrespect His Sweet and Caring Grandmother?

Author/Editor/Publisher’s Note:  This post was accidentally published as the first real post of this blog.  The actual published order is: introduction, a mini FAQ, a solicitation of a reader’s theory post, “Dissing Granny” and then “Hitler’s Footsteps”.  I had some free time tonight and decided to clean up this blog’s format and other details.  Originally, I wrote the entire series and was going to post them chronologically in the order that I wrote them, but somehow the correct order was lost in translation.  I had to change this post when I published it the first time and that resulted in having to change everything that followed, so I’m saying screw it and putting it back so I don’t have to change anything in the next posts from here forward.  I am moving this one back to where it goes, chronologically, and creating permanent pages for the Intro and FAQ.  Next time I think I’ll plan ahead a little better and spend longer than 30 minutes writing and executing everything.

Growing up during the Great Depression could not have been an easy task for anyone, and the reward for those that survived it was World War 2.  Millions of deaths later, World War 2 ended and signaled the close of 15 years of misery the US had endured.  With bad times finally behind them the soldiers, and the civilians that supported them, put down their guns and collectively pushed this country into a level of wealth the world had never seen.  The citizens and soldiers who showed such a high level of personal sacrifice during those dark times are the most selfless and patriotic citizens that any country has ever had in the history of the world.  Who could possibly criticize the people whose determination endured the poverty of the Great Depression, won World War 2, and then came home and redefined themselves as crusaders of capitalism?  Douglas Ernst.

While Douglas Ernst has been enjoying the world his grandmother helped create, he still feels the need to point out that her opinions on the events she lived through are stupid and wrong, the events he has only read about.  Keep in mind, he doesn’t tell her to her face that she is stupid and wrong, that would be rude, instead he smiles politely and says nothing to her face, then goes behind her back and talks shit about her in his blog.  That is just the kind of guy Douglas Ernst is: too nice to say anything to her face, too much of a dick to ignore it completely.

From the way he described it, it seems as though Douglas Ernst was pretending to listen to his grandmother speak about her personal hero, FDR, while thinking: “YOU’RE WRONG!  YOU’RE WRONG!  YOU’RE WRONG! YOU’RE WRONG! YOU’RE WRONG!”  Why is she wrong? Economics of course!  Obviously, Douglas Ernst is smarter than anyone in history, that would include FDR and his own grandmother, and since he already knows everything, he has nothing to learn from his grandmother sharing her experiences and life lessons.  Instead of listening, Douglas Ernst spent that time thinking of a way to attack what his grandmother was saying.

I understand why he did it, telling his grandmother that she was wrong was probably pointless, she’s probably one of those types of people who think living through history makes her more keenly aware of what actually happened than a book her grandson, Douglas Ernst,  had read.  In place of telling her why she was wrong, he decided to write a post about why she is wrong.  It seems like this tactic’s main purpose was letting anyone sitting with them (pretending to listen like Douglas Ernst was) they would know she was wrong, and the reasons why she was wrong.  I imagine the thought process going through Douglas Ernst’s head sounded something like this: “Why is she trying to lie to us?  I know more than her! Does everyone here think she is right? I should put an immediate stop to this bullshit! Is she fucking stupid? I know, I’ll use the power of my blog!!!”  At the end of the day it is important to Douglas Ernst that he lets everyone know he is smarter than they are, and that includes a rambling old lady who thinks her grandchildren might be interested in learning about her life.

How does this apply to the greater goal of understanding Douglas Ernst?  I’m not sure yet, but a perceived lack of respect for his own grandmother is an interesting comment on the quality of his character that I hope to explore more of later.  This is only my first look into Douglas Ernst’s mind, and although it raised more questions than answers, I think we did make progress.  I hope you’ll continue to stay with me and together we can determine whether or not Douglas Ernst hates America.

Smurfalot

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. This blog is amazing. I love it. Anyone who is so annoyed by my musing and limited government and individual liberty that they would create a site dedicated to bashing me has some passion. Bravo. The anonymous nature is a great touch, too. Good luck!

    Reply
  2. Thomas J.

     /  July 2, 2012

    Smurfalot – Thanks for pointing me to his blog. His posts seem fairly thoughtful and grounded… for the most part. He also has a ton of posts for me to catch up on. It is obvious you aren’t a fan, but thanks anyway.

    My biggest complaint is that he is a Spiderman fan. Really Douglas? Have you never read X-MEN?

    Reply

Leave a comment